Tuesday, November 30, 2021
HomeTrending#UGDecides: Naadu triumphs over Rebecca Derry, Jonelle Mate-Kodjo in Gen. Sec. race

#UGDecides: Naadu triumphs over Rebecca Derry, Jonelle Mate-Kodjo in Gen. Sec. race

Stephanie Naadu Antwi has emerged as the winner in the General Secretary race in this year’s University of Ghana Student Representative Council (UGSRC) elections.

The elections which were held on Wednesday, October 20, 2021, saw the Electoral Commission (EC) adopt a hybrid system – manual and online voting as a result of the modular system been run by the school.

- Advertisement -

In the online voting, Stephanie Naadu Antwi had the lion’s share, garnering 4,103 representing 54.6% of the total valid votes cast as against Rebecca Derry who obtained  2,306 representing 30.7%, and Jonelle Mate Kodjo who got only 997 representing 13.3%.

The online voting saw 7,516 cast their ballot for the General Secretary portfolio whiles 110(1.5%) abstained.

For the cumulative results for both manual and online voting, Stephanie Naadu Antwi secured 7,373 of total valid votes cast (52.82%) to beat off stiff competition from Rebecca Derry and Jonelle Mate – Kodjo who secured 4,894 (34.74%) and  1737 (12.44%) respectively per provisional results as declared by the Electoral Competition (EC).

When sworn into office, Stephanie Naadu Antwi will take over from Acting UGSRC General Secretary, Ruby Nkansah.

The provisional results for the general secretary position dovetails into Radio Univers’ online poll which tipped Stephanie Naadu Antwi to win with ease.

Below is the full Provisional Results..


1. Samuel Amos Ofosu & Alfred Acquah= 5,760 votes (41.9%)

2. Priscilla Asantewaa Ayeh &Henry =914 votes (6.66)

3. Team Felix Ayittah & Paul Baah Andam = 1,947 votes (14.19%)

4. Prince Asumadu & Wisdom Nduke= 5,102 votes (37.18)

General Secretary

Rebecca Derry Mvinviel=4894 votes (34.74)

Jonelle Mate-kodjo= 1737 votes (12. 44)

Stephanie Naadu Antwi = 7373 votes ( 52.82)


Daniel Obeng Asamoah = 9717 votes ( 72.68)

Abdul Rashid Abdul Razak = 3653 votes ( 27.32)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here